What Is Taking So Long?

I’ve been getting emails and comments/messages on networking sites asking why it takes two years for SHATTERED SOULS 2 to reach release. That’s a great question. It should not take two years to write this kind of book (Commercial fiction, specifically, the second book set in a world with rules I’ve already researched and defined in the first). Some genres require much more time, like research-heavy projects including non-fiction, which can take years, even decades.

So why 2014? I write young adult novels for Penguin and they bought a different project from me before they purchased Souls 2. Because of the order of the contracts, ASHES ON THE WAVES was due before SOULS 2.

I also write adult paranormal novels under a different name and have a total of 6 books under contract. I write at least two books a year, and hopefully that productivity will show up in 2014 and the future. I have more than one book per year slated in 2014 and 2015.

I wish SOULS 2 had been in the works earlier, but sometimes things just don’t work out in the straightest line. I’m so grateful for the folks who have expressed excitement over both ASHES and SOULS 2. I can’t wait until they hit the shelves!

Mary

Explore posts in the same categories: Publishing, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “What Is Taking So Long?”


  1. Good luck!! I can see how that would lead to a busy schedule for your book releases–two a year.


Leave a Reply

