My Agent is Like…

Today is Agent Appreciation Day.  A group of authors have teamed up and decided to blog about our agents today.  The definitive list of writers joining this endeavor can be found on Lisa and Laura’s blog, so I’m not going to duplicate it here.  Click here to see a list of other writers paying homage to their agents and see who represents whom.

I’m fortunate to be represented by Joan Paquette of the Erin Murphy Literary Agency.  I received several offers from agents, but something about Joan just clicked.  She saw my book the way I had always hoped someone would.  She GOT it.  She had fantastic revision suggestions that made the book so much better.

The best thing about my relationship with Joan is that I trust her.  Trust is, in my opinion, the most important thing in the agent/author relationship.  It is way too stressful a process to have to second guess your agent on top of everything.

So, what is my agent like?  My agent is like:

Or more specifically, my agent is like:

Or maybe:

And definitely:

Thanks, Joan.

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “My Agent is Like…”


  1. Yay for amazing agents! Happy Agent Day!


  2. What a lovely way to give kudos to everyone’s hardworking agents. So glad to hear you have such a wonderful relationship with yours!


  3. […] Day posts here — or check out more reasons why Joan is wonderful at Alison’s blog, Mary Lindsey’s blog, or Anna Staniszewski’s […]

  4. Donna Maloy Says:

    I know two words that together describe Joan perfectly: UNFLAGGING ENTHUSIASM. Now who wouldn’t want an agent like that?


  5. LOVE the chocolate. What a fun way to show agent-love!


  6. It is wonderful to see all this agent appreciation across the web. Sounds like you have a wonderful, supportive relationship. 🙂

  7. Judith Says:

    Love the chocolate. Agents, like a box of chocolate. Yes, so true!


Leave a Reply

