Well, Everyone’s Doing It. Right?

Youtube is full of book trailers.  They take a lot of time to create and since I’m a technotard, I decided I didn’t want or need one.  “I will never have one,” I have often proclaimed.

As always, whenever I draw a line in the sand, I’m forced to smooth out the sand and reevaluate my line. An opportunity came up that allowed me to get a book trailer with very little effort.  AirProductions was offering a special deal on trailers–a “Godfather” kind of too-g00d-a-deal-to-refuse.

I would love your comments, but not about the trailer itself.  I’d like to know if you have a trailer (feel free to link) and what you think of book trailers’ marketing power or appeal.  Have you ever bought a book based on one?

Explore posts in the same categories: Soul Purpose

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Well, Everyone’s Doing It. Right?”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    I know you don’t want a comment on the trailer, but…it looks great!

    I have been thinking about doing one for my book but keep pushing it back until I find representation. Or maybe I’m just scared. ; )

    I havent’t personally bought a book based on a trailer (since I have my nose in reviewer and publishing sites)but I think they are an effective tool and well worth an authors time to make one or have one made.

    Hmmm, I feel like I’m talking myself into one.

  2. ElanaJ Says:

    I like book trailers. Do they make me want to read the book? Usually not. I like to imagine for myself what the characters look like, what the settings look like based on what the author has written, etc. and the trailer almost always spoils that.

    Yours is fantastic!

  3. Kat Says:

    For the most part, I like the idea of book trailers, but like Elana said, it doesn’t necessarily make me want to read a book.

    I think they have very limited appeal. Most of the books I pick up are referred to me by friends or spark my interest at the book store.

    However, I made a mock-up of my own — http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YF4yHrEKboM — and I had a LOT of fun with it. But I’m kind of a A/V nerd anyway, so I’d have done it anyway. 🙂

  4. Sherry Says:

    I have a few teaser trailers for my teen book, FORESIGHT, which is due out in November. I love seeing these kind of things! If a friend sent me a trailer, and I liked it, I’d definatly go get the book. On the same token, I like trailers for books I’ve already read. I like seing the characters brought to life.


  5. I personally love book trailers. I’m a visual person, so “seeing” the story has a way of hooking me.
    BTW, Soul Purpose sounds fantastic! 🙂

  6. marylindsey Says:

    I’m glad you liked it, Rebecca. Since I didn’t do it myself, I didn’t want critiques of it because I can’t change it. Your nice words are appreciated. You should take one on if you are thinking about it. It’s fun to encapsulate your book in six sentences. So different from the six sentences of an elevator pitch. 🙂

    Thanks, Elana. I feel the same way. The photos are some I took at the cemetery where part of the book takes place. We were careful not to depict the characters. I’ve actually seen book trailer with recognizable TV and movie stars used to depict characters.

    Hi, Kat. I’ve never bought a book based on a trailer either. I never really wanted one, but this was a fun experience and the girl I worked with was nice, so it was a win all around. Your trailer is awesome. I like the negative exposure effect.

  7. Nisa Says:

    I didn’t even realize it was a trend! I’ll have to go check out some and maybe buy a book because of it! lol with youtube being so huge lately, it’s certainly not a bad way to get your name out there. I am technically challenged however as well, but I try to never say never. I do have a very tech-savvy husband so maybe he could help get one up. it’s a good idea!

  8. Lady Glamis Says:

    I love book trailers. I think they’re a great way to give information quickly and effectively about your book. I haven’t bought a book based on a trailer, but I’m sure I will eventually.

    I have to book trailers.

    Monarch

    The Breakaway

  9. KM Says:

    I’m not a huge fan of book trailers, but I haven’t come down on the issue for good yet. I’ve never seen one that made me want to read the book. It seems to me like if you’re going to have one, you should get a good one. I’ve seen quite a few that were less than stellar, and they were for books that I absolutely loved. So…I’m sort of skeptical at this point. But I’m hoping that, in the future, one will grab me by the scruff of my shirt, swing me around, and sceam, “READ THIS BOOK!!!” because book trailers were such a cool idea. I just wish they were better made in general.

    But I liked yours. It wasn’t fussy or overblown – just simple and straight to the point. And your premise definitely sounds interesting. Is it a paranormal romance? That’s what it seems like.

    • marylindsey Says:

      Yep. It’s YA paranormal romance. I’m with you, KM. I’m not a huge fan of trailers, but then, I buy most of my books by referral.

      Thanks for the links, LG. Nice to see you. *waves*

      Hi, Nisa. I’m a total technotard. I hired a company to do this one. Sigh.

      Thanks, everybody for the comments.


  10. I love book trailers! I agree about not wanting to see the characters faces, which is the same reason I don’t like to see pictures of the characters on covers. I like to imagine them myself. But you can get around that in the trailer.

    I did in fact buy a book based on the trailer. Well, actually I saw the trailer for Kelley Armstrong’s ‘The Awakening’ which is the second in her YA series, and it prompted me to go buy ‘The Summoning’ which is the first in the series. I enjoyed it so much that I did buy ‘The Awakening.’

    My advice is that if you are targeting younger readers, get a trailer on YouTube to promote it. Kids love that kind of stuff and they are surfing YouTube like you wouldn’t believe.

    My brother and I put a trailer together in a couple of hours just for fun for my book Demonic Attractions. It’s at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fuyPzNg6I9o Let me know what you guys think.

    Mary, I loved your trailer. The visuals and music were fantastic. And I didn’t see any character’s face so I still get to use my imagination. Well done!

  11. marylindsey Says:

    Thanks for the comments, everyone. It is so fun to see your trailers and get your take on the subject.

  12. Stina Says:

    I’ve watched two book trailers in the past and gained nothing from them. I did end up buying the books, but the trailers had nothing to do with that. I was already planning to buy them. But–a big but here–I’m not a teen. Alyssa had a very good point.

    I definitely don’t want to see an actor’s face. I already had an image in my mind what Seth looked like in Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series. And my version looked a lot hotter than the actor in the trailer. What a downer.


  13. I’ve never thought about a book trailer and I just can’t get into YouTube! I’m a technotard in a big way and would be with you, drawing a line in the sand. Only to be talked round at a later date.

    CJ xx

  14. SINGAMARAJA Says:

    Singamaraja reading your blog

  15. Jan Markley Says:

    I have a trailer of sorts for my middle grade novel Dead Frog on the Porch that will drop October of 2009. A You Tube video called Sprite Doesn’t like Rejection was created by my 11 year old niece. It features my cat Sprite eating my rejection letters from literary agents.

    You can find it on my blog:
    http://janmarkley.blogspot.com/search/label/Sprite%20the%20Writer%27s%20Cat


Leave a Reply

