Online Gets Real

I just got back from a trip to Utah.  I flew there to visit my online friend, Suzette Saxton.  The flight was necessary because, in my mind, it is impossible to have a best friend you’ve never really met.  Now I’ve met her.  All is right with the world.  As an added bonus, I got to meet several other writer friends who live in Utah.  Elana Johnson is a fellow QT blogger and has some of the coolest hair ever–as well as a snappy personality.  I met Angie Lofthouse, Michelle Mclean and Bethany Wiggins too.  

I think the coolest thing was how comfortable I felt with everyone right off the bat.  It wasn’t like a first meeting at all.  We had been corresponding for over a year and have all read each other’s books.  Some of them have read my stuff in its roughest stages, which is kind of like being naked–so I guess being at home right away is understandable.  

I wanted to share some of the fun pics.  We got a little silly.

Hannah and I were glad to be in Utah.

Hannah and I were glad to be in Utah.

Suzette's sister is a photographer, so she snapped some shots of me and my daughter.

Suzette's sister is a photographer, so she snapped some shots of me and my daughter.

Elana Johnson and Mary Lindsey (me) at Salem Pond.

Elana Johnson and Mary Lindsey (me) at Salem Pond.

Angie Lofthouse, Elana Johnson and me.

Angie Lofthouse, Elana Johnson and me.

Suzette Saxton, me, Michelle Mclean, Bethany Wiggins

Suzette Saxton, me, Michelle Mclean, Bethany Wiggins

Um...yeah.  Librarian types.

Um...yeah. Librarian types.

Everything was going along fine until Elana picked up the pitchfork.

Everything was going along fine until Elana picked up the pitchfork.

We could have taken Suz if I hadn't broken down laughing.

We could have taken Suz if I hadn't broken down laughing.

Me, Elana Johnson and Suzette Saxton

Me, Elana Johnson and Suzette Saxton

One of the highlights of the trip was when we went to Angie's house to play with chickens.  A highlight, I kid you not in that those suckers are FAST. It was hilarious.

One of the highlights of the trip was when we went to Angie's house to play with chickens. A highlight, I kid you not, in that those suckers are FAST. It was hilarious.

This chicken's name is Tina Turner.  Nice hairdo, huh?

This chicken's name is Tina Turner. Nice hairdo, huh?

I only have three regrets about the trip.  1) It was too short, 2) I wish I could have met a few more of my writer friends but they don’t live in Utah and 3) I forgot to give everyone the Dove Dark I brought for them.  I’d better mail it out before I give into the temptation and eat it all myself.  

Have you ever had the chance to meet someone you knew online for a long time?  I’d love to hear about it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Critique Groups, Online Networking, Real Life

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Online Gets Real”

  1. Kat Says:

    What an awesome post Mary! This is really neat. The pictures are wonderful.

    The only online friend I have met was one I cybermet while researching part of the setting for my WIP. When I traveled down to St. Louis, she gave me and my husband a custom tour of The Hill and we ate at this lovely Italian restaurant called Rigazzi’s.

    Her name is Victoria, and she’s a gem. I’m so happy to have met her, and I can’t wait to get back there soon.

  2. Cindy Wilson Says:

    How wonderful you were able to make this trip. I have never met any of my blogging friends (not yet anyway) but I’d love to! I have a unique kind of bond with them that I cherish.

  3. ElanaJ Says:

    Doh! The Dove dark! *imagine Heather’s “NO!” smiley*

    It was so fun hanging out with you. I’m meeting Windy on Monday for lunch. And I can’t wait to meet Michelle!

  4. Christine Fonseca Says:

    How fun!!! I have not met any of you guys in real life, something I hope changes now that break is coming up.

  5. Angie Says:

    I had great fun meeting you, too! The pictures are so cute.

  6. Stina Says:

    I haven’t had a chance to meet my online crit group yet. One member just moved back to the States from China. Two others also live in the States. Our newest member lives only a three hour drive from me (we both live in Alberta, Canada) and has friends and family in my city, so we don’t have any excuses. Hopefully soon the two of us will get to meet in person one day soon.

  7. Cate Gardner Says:

    WOW! Looks like you had a fantastic time.


  8. I’ve met several of my online writing friends and it’s always a thrill. Your post makes me want to do more of that.

  9. Debra Marrs Says:

    The photo of you and your daughter is lovely, Mary. Love the pics of the chickens too. Charming!


Leave a Reply

