Agented Again!

yippee_bigI signed my contract with Joan Paquette from the Erin Murphy Literary Agency today.  I’m thrilled to be working with Joan, who is a writer herself and had great suggestions for a round of revisions before submission.  

Thanks to all my friends who have been so supportive through this process. Especially Suzette and Carolyn, who have dropped everything to read through the manuscript multiple times recently on short notice.

Marla, you’re a rock.  I can’t wait to start filming! You gave me hope for what I thought was a box-under-the-bed project. 

Lauren, you made me realize it was time to query and move forward again. Your “pay it forward” attitude is awe-inspiring. 

Special shout out to my online friends Lisa, Michelle, Terri, Elana and Heather for tolerating my angst, and kudos to Jess for helping me over the rough spot when things hit a wall, and Leah who spent time on the phone helping me figure stuff out when I received the first offer.  

I also need to thank Pat for enduring endless prattle and Dotti for not rolling her eyes when I thought out loud for hours at Jason’s Deli.  

People say writing is a solo endeavor.  I disagree.  This particular writer has had the benefit of a support team.  I owe all of you.  Call in those chips anytime.

Explore posts in the same categories: Critique Groups

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “Agented Again!”

  1. jenn nixon Says:

    congrats!!


  2. Congratulations! I am so happy for you! It was always a pleasure to read your work; your book rocks!

  3. Kat Says:

    Congrats to you!

  4. Courtney Says:

    Congrats again Mary!!! *snoopy dances*

  5. ElanaJ Says:

    W00t! You are awesome! 😀

  6. marylindsey Says:

    Thanks, everybody. And Elana and Suz, you guys are too good.

  7. Rebecca Says:

    What incredible news!!

    I’m sure in no time we’ll be seeing a post telling us you found a publisher too! I love seeing posts like this, gives all of us who are out here trying to stay afloat, hope.

    Thanks for sharing this major success. I can’t wait to see what happens next on your journey…so many exciting things already!

    Best of luck. : )

  8. Christine Fonseca Says:

    Congrats Mary. And you are so right…writing is definitely a team sport!!!

  9. Nisa Says:

    That is so awesome! I totally agree that writing is hardly a singular endeavor! I’ve just begun and already I have had so many people help me along the way! Congrats again!


  10. CONGRATS!!! That is so awesome! You have been in my thoughts and I have been worried about you. I have been sending out mondo positive vibes that you would get a new agent. So happy to hear it has happened! Yay!

  11. Michelle Says:

    I am so excited for you!!! It’s an awesome book and I can’t wait to have a signed copy on my shelf 😀

  12. Carolyn Says:

    *ditto* *ditto* on what michelle said

    and thanks for the thanks. you make me teary. in a good way. 😉


  13. I am so happy for you, my friend!


  14. Huge congrats! It’s always encouraging to hear of another writer landing an agent.

  15. Joanna Says:

    Congrats again, Mary!!


  16. Woot! Congratulations!

    I can’t wait to see this one in print.

  17. Jessica Verday Says:

    Yay! Congrats on the fabulous news, Mary!!


Leave a Reply

