Why I Haven’t Been Writing

More photos of my butterfly garden and goldfish pond:

p4120018

p4120019

p4120022
p4120013

p4120007

p4120010

p4120011

Explore posts in the same categories: Gardening, Real Life

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Why I Haven’t Been Writing”

  1. Christine Fonseca Says:

    So beautiful!!!

  2. Annie Says:

    That is soooo beautiful! How long did it take you to get it to that point? My husband and I want to do something similar to our backyard, and right now it’s pretty much an empty slate.

  3. marylindsey Says:

    Hi, Annie. I skinned off the grass, dug the pond, installed the iron fencing and entry gate last year at this time. I planted it over a few months and it was finished by the end of last summer. I did the work myself. 🙂 My daughter helps me maintain it now. I hired a guy to do the pergola last fall, which is why the wisteria hasn’t grown over it yet.

    It was a TON of work. I’m glad I restricted it to a small area (50×50 feet) within my yard. I fenced it not only to support the passion vine, but to keep my dogs out of the pond. (They like to hassle the toads and frogs).

    It brings me such happiness. We chose plants that attract hummingbirds and butterflies. During the summer, it is teeming with them. By this time next year, it will be mature. I can’t wait.

  4. Suzette Saxton Says:

    I can’t wait to see it in person! It is so amazingly beautiful. It amazes me how fast things grow there. Here in our canyon we don’t get as much sun, and our wisteria is only a few feet tall after a year and a half — and it’s supposed to be the fast-growing kind!

    How blissful to have such a peaceful, secluded spot. It must be heavenly when the birds and butters arrive.

  5. Annie Says:

    Wow, that is truly amazing, and so inspiring! I think this year we are going to focus on building a square foot garden, and I want to put in a patio.

  6. Wiggy Says:

    I am glad to know that I’m not the only one who does it “all” when it comes to the yard (besides Sue). What an undertaking! Wish you were here to give me some tips and ideas!

  7. marylindsey Says:

    Suzette, I can’t think of anything I’d love more than having you see it in person! Get on down here.

    Thanks Annie. Good luck with your patio and garden.

    Wiggy. I wish I were there too. Or you and your sis here. We will get together one of these days. 🙂


Leave a Reply

