Landing on My Feet

cat_land_feet-182x538It’s an old idiom we’ve heard thousands of times.  “She always lands on her feet.” 

Land on your feet  also fall on your feet  (British & Australian)  to be lucky or successful after you have been in a difficult situation.  Cambridge Idioms Dictionary, 2nd ed.

I’m an optimistic person, but I have to admit, being a writer has put my positive outlook to the test.  As with all things in life, if you want something bad enough, you will find a way to make it happen.  

It may just be coincidental, or it may be some law of life, but bad things seem to happen in clusters.  Perhaps it is that when bad things happen, we notice the domino effect of negative occurrences rather than focus on the good.  Whatever the case, I just came out of a series of unpleasant events.

Now, all of a sudden, as if dropped from heaven as a reward, amazing things are happening.  Things so cool I’m not sure whether to be celebratory or wary.  

They say (whoever they are), “That which doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.”  Well, I’m pretty freaking strong by now and I’d like to put this strength to use.  It looks like that finally may happen.  

Yep.  Once again, I have landed on my feet.  Like a cat, the higher the point from which I’m dropped, the more likely it is I will be able flip over in time to land on my feet.  How will I fare from a great height?  Pretty darn well.  I’m tough.

Explore posts in the same categories: Real Life

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Landing on My Feet”

  1. Tara Maya Says:

    I’m glad to hear things are going better.


  2. Glad to hear your catlike ways have gotten you through a tough time, and I hope you don’t have to call on them again anytime soon!

  3. legendoftheprotectors Says:

    I’m sooo happy things are picking up for you!

  4. Alicia Says:

    I’m sorry you’ve had a rough time lately, but how wonderful that life has taken a turn for the better! Keep up the optimism and hard work. It sounds like awesome things are heading your way. 🙂

  5. Christine Fonseca Says:

    Sorry thing are rough…but you are right, you are the type that will always land on your feet. Go Get ’em…you deserve all the good things coming your way

  6. AshK Says:

    I used to think “if it doesn’t kill you, it will only make you stronger.”

    Now I wonder: did I get stronger, or did it just not try hard enough to kill me?

    The wheel will turn, Mary, and better things will come. Roll with it and see how it goes.


Leave a Reply

