Nuh Uh. I’m Not Swimming in that Pool.

optimism-784009

“Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement.  Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.”  Helen Keller

“Optimist: Person who travels on nothing from nowhere to happiness.”  Mark Twain

The Query Tracker.net blog chain topic was started this round by the always hilarious and clever  Elana Johnson.  Jessica Verday, author of  THE HOLLOW, posted before me and Kate Quinn’s post will follow.  The topic is:

When you’re in a pool of writing funk, how do you get out? 

nscn16lWell, anyone who knows me is aware that I’m an optimistic fool.  Rarely have I submerged completely in the funk pool.  My outlook is more like a fountain of hope.  Sometimes the fountain runs dry.  No life-saving device necessary for me–I acknowledge the suckitude of my writing (which is, at times, significant), distract myself with something less stressful and soon the crisis abates.  

It’s that half-glass full thing I try to maintain at all costs.  It works for me.  

Now, I’m not talking about ignoring the problem; I just acknowledge it and give myself time to cool down  and come up with a solution.  The pool of writing funk is so insidious, you find yourself drowning before you even know you’ve fallen in.  My strategy is to try to stop myself before I get my feet wet.  When I reach a block, I take a shower, pull weeds and work in the garden or spend time with my kids.  Music often provides the stimulus to stay away from the funk pool and move past my block or self-doubt.  

What makes me happy?

Elana provided a second part to her post topic.  She wanted us to include things that make us happy to add to her arsenal of funk pool shields.  Sorry, Elana, but the thing that makes me laugh the most is my kids.  You can’t have them, but here are some pictures exemplifying why they make me laugh.  They are witty, adorable and twice as smart as I am.  So much fun.  The ultimate comedy routine.  They have a thing for hats, mud, and silly hair styles.  They also are experts at hiding rubber roaches in places you’d never expect!  Now that the twins are 11 and Hannah is 12, the scope of their humor has expanded to the point it borders on being a riot.  I promised them I wouldn’t post current photos and embarrass them. (Shhhh.  I’ll do it when they aren’t looking.)  Here are some older photos.  Yep.  They make me happy. 

dsc00813dscn1580img_711img_1085p6090053p7250079pc170001photo-11

Explore posts in the same categories: QueryTracker Chain

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Nuh Uh. I’m Not Swimming in that Pool.”


  1. Why would you apologize for having your kids make you laugh? Just cuz I can’t steal them? Okay, you can keep them. 😉 Mine make me laugh too.

  2. marylindsey Says:

    Because the thing that makes me laugh is specific and doesn’t have universal appeal. It won’t be useful in your arsenal of funk deterrents. 😀

  3. Michelle Says:

    Your kids are so cute!!! You know, as crazy as mine make me, they make me laugh too. They are sweet and adorable and just come up with the funniest things 🙂 Great post!!


  4. I love the picture of your kids in the mud!

    (And yes, some pools are better left unswum in.)

  5. Christine Fonseca Says:

    HA – Love the pictures…I actually think I have matching ones of my kids. Scary I know!

  6. Carolyn Says:

    Pictures from your life are always a treat. One look at your kids and it’s no wonder why they make you happy. I gotta tell you, though, that mud picture is absolutely priceless!


  7. Aw cute pictures! I can totally understand how they help keep you out of the funk.

  8. H. L. Dyer Says:

    Your kids always make me smile. You do, too. 🙂

    I love this post, even though you didn’t swim with us.


Leave a Reply

