My 2009 Resolution. Yep, only one.

clock_screen011

I have only one resolution this year.  If I can stick to this resolution, it will enable me to:

  • Spend more time with my kids
  • Spend more time with my husband
  • Spend less time cleaning house
  • Write more so I can finish the three books I have outlined
  • Have more time to relax and read.  

The problem is this resolution takes a lot of self-control.  

Have you ever taken a time management seminar? I have, and all it taught me was I could have spent the time devoted to the seminar more productively than listening to someone blab on about common sense application of known principles. I sat in my metal folding chair, praying for a reprieve for my aching backside, thinking it was all well and good in theory–it’s the practice that kills me (in addition to metal folding chairs).

Here’s a lovely chart that will enable you to waste more of your unmanaged time if you really study it. I ask you only to look at the part in red above the stressed smiley’s left eyebrow labeled, “Wasters.”  That exemplifies the root of my one and only resolution this year:  Wasted time.

152355280

My resolution:  I will endeavor to not waste time.  Seriously, that is the root of all my problems right now.  

As idiotic as this chart appears, it’s pretty accurate.  It says to avoid waiting, disruptions, habits of laziness and procrastination.  It says to avoid just staying busy and negative emotions (as if).  The main thing that caught my eye was the admonishment to avoid too much technology.  The internet is probably my number one time waster (she says as she enters the post on her blog).

So if I’m harder to reach or not as visible this year, you’ll know why:

In 2009, I resolve to be more time efficient.  I. Will. Waste. Less. Time.

Happy New Year, everybody.

Explore posts in the same categories: Real Life

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “My 2009 Resolution. Yep, only one.”

  1. Christine Fonseca Says:

    That is something we ALL could benefit from. Thank you for reminding us of this sage advice.

  2. legendoftheprotectors Says:

    Yes, that is wonderful! That’s going to be my new year resolution as well. And my husband will thank you for sharing it as well. Now to go link this to my blog. 🙂


  3. […] Great Blog Post Friend and fellow writer, Mary Lindsey had a great post. Her New Year Resolution. Only one. And I for one add it to mine. Go read it here. […]


  4. I was totally with you until you put the internet in the category of time wasters. “Impossible” I type while in the midst of an hour long block of leaving comments on people’s blogs. 😉

  5. Suzette Saxton Says:

    The illustration with your blog was incredible – and so funny!

  6. Michelle Says:

    Ahhh, I chose the same resolution for this year, so I have to say, it is an excellent one 🙂

  7. raballard Says:

    I made a New Years resolution almost 40 years ago, I still live by that resolution, I have faithfully kept it, all these many years.

    The resoution: never make another resolution (that and be the best person I knew how to be. I am still working on the last one)


Leave a Reply

